Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Faculty

Steve Ackerman
Professor
Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education


PhD Colorado State University
Room 251, 1001 AOSS
608-263-3647
stevea@ssec.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Larissa Back
Associate Professor



PhD University of Washington
Room 1333 AOSS
608-262-0776
lback@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Ankur Desai
Professor
Associate Chair of Graduate Studies


PhD Pennsylvania State University
Room 1549 AOSS
608-265-9201
desai@aos.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Stephanie Henderson
Assistant Professor



PhD Colorado State University
Room 1503 AOSS
608-265-3583
sahenderson@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Matt Hitchman
Professor



PhD University of Washington
Room 1303 AOSS
608-262-4653
matt@aos.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Tracey Holloway
Professor



PhD Princeton University
201A Enzyme, SAGE
608-262-5356
taholloway@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Tristan L'Ecuyer
Professor
Director, Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies


PhD Colorado State University
Room 1511 AOSS
608-890-2107
tlecuyer@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Elizabeth Maroon
Assistant Professor



PhD University of Washington
Room 1533 AOSS
608-262-0514
emaroon@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Jonathan Martin
Professor



PhD University of Washington
Room 1425A AOSS
608-262-9845
jemarti1@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Michael Morgan
Professor
Associate Chair of Undergraduate Studies


PhD Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Room 1401 AOSS
608-265-8159
mcmorgan@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Grant Petty
Professor



PhD University of Washington
Room 1329 AOSS
608-263-3265
gpetty@aos.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Brad Pierce
Professor
Director, Space Science and Engineering Center


PhD University of Wisconsin
Room 1011 AOSS
608-890-1892
rbpierce@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Angela Rowe
Assistant Professor



PhD Colorado State University
Room 903 AOSS
608-265-9729
akrowe@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Greg Tripoli
Department Chair
Professor


PhD Colorado State University
Room 1431 AOSS
608-262-3700
tripoli@aos.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Daniel J. Vimont
Professor, Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
Director, Nelson Institute Center for Climatic Research
Co-Director, Wisconsin Initiative on Climate Change Impacts

PhD University of Washington
Room 1123 AOSS
608-263-3420
dvimont@wisc.edu
Personal Website

Emeritus Faculty

Francis Bretherton
Emeritus Professor

PhD University of Cambridge


fbretherton@charter.net
Personal Website
Stefan Hastenrath
Emeritus Professor

PhD University of Bonn
927 AOSS
608-262-3659
slhasten@wisc.edu
John Kutzbach
Emeritus Professor

PhD University of Wisconsin
1125 AOSS
608-262-0392
jek@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Zhengyu Liu
Emeritus Professor

PhD Massachusetts Institute of Technology


zliu3@wisc.edu
Personal Website
John Norman
Emeritus Professor

PhD University of Wisconsin
71A Soils Sciences
608-262-4576
jmnormal@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Robert Ragotzskie
Emeritus Professor

PhD University of Wisconsin

ragotzskie@wisc.edu
William Smith
Emeritus Professor

PhD University of Wisconsin
1005 AOSS
608-262-4363
bill.smith@hamptonnu.edu
Pao Wang
Emeritus Professor

PhD University of California-Los Angeles
Room 1525A
608-263-6479
pao@windy.aos.wisc.edu
Personal Website
John Young
Emeritus Professor

PhD Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1503 AOSS

jayoung@wisc.edu

Affiliate and Adjunct Faculty

Ralf Bennartz
Affiliated Faculty Status

PhD The Free University of Berlin Institute for Space Sciences
SSEC
608-265-2249
bennartz@aos.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Tim Bertram
Affiliate Assistant Professor

PhD University of California Berkeley
4325A Chemistry
608-890-3422
tbertram2@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Andy Heidinger
Adjunct Associate Professor

PhD Colorado State University
405 AOSS
608-263-6757
andrew.heidinger@ssec.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Brett Hoover
Affiliate Staff Status

PhD University of Wisconsin
219 AOSS
608-263-1116
bthoover@wisc.edu
Jeff Key
Adjunct Professor

PhD University of Colorado-Boulder
403 AOSS
608-263-2605
jkey@ssec.wisc.edu
Personal Website
James Kossin
Adjunct Professor

PhD Colorado State University
205 AOSS
608-265-5356
kossin@ssec.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Chris Kucharik
Affiliate Professor

PhD University of Wisconsin
202 Enzyme
608-263-1859
kucharik@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Shaun Marcott
Affiliate Assistant Professor

PhD Oregon State University
Weeks Hall
608-262-2368
smarcott@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Galen McKinley
Adjunct Professor

PhD Massachusetts Institute of Technology


mckinley@ldeo.columbia.edu
Personal Website
Stefan Metzger
Adjunct Assistant Professor

PhD Bayreuth University and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

720-836-2421
smetzger@battelleecology.org
Personal Website
Margaret Mooney
Lecturer

Public Policy MPA University of Wisconsin
401 AOSS
608-265-2123
margaret.mooney@ssec.wisc.edu
Matt Newman
Adjunct Associate Professor

PhD University of Washington

303-497-6233
matt.newman@noaa.gov
Personal Website
Michael Notaro
Affiliate Scientist

PhD State University of New York at Albany
1153 AOSS
608-261-1503
mnotaro@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Steven Platnick
Adjunct Professor

PhD University of Arizona
NASA GSFC

steven.e.platnick@nasa.gov
Personal Website
Leslie Smith
Affiliate Professor

PhD Massachusetts Institute of Technology
825 Van Vleck
608-263-3057
lsmith@math.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Sam Stechmann
Affiliate Associate Professor

PhD Courant Institute; New York University
815 van Vleck
608-263-4351
stechmann@math.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Paul Stoy
Affiliate Associate Professor

PhD Duke
209 Agricultural Engineering
406-600-3577
pcstoy@wisc.edu
Personal Website
Jack Williams
Affiliate Faculty Status

PhD Brown University
421 Science Hall
608-625-5537
jww@geography.wisc.edu
Personal Website
Dan Wright
Affiliate Assistant Professor

PhD Princeton University
1269c Engineering Hall
608-262-1978
danielb.wright@wisc.edu
Personal Website